Thursday, September 28, 2006

Three Spike Priggen Songs ($1/each, MP3)

We're happy to present Boing Boing Digital Emporium's first batch of DRM-free music. Spike Priggen is offering three songs from his latest album, There's No Sound In Flutes! (with album art by Peter Bagge).

Citing as influences the '80s New York/London punk and new wave scenes, as well as the power pop of Cheap Trick and Big Star, Spike (Michael) Priggen makes a wide variety of pop music, which ranges from subtle chamber pop to loud, bombastic garage rock to forays into psychedelia. There's No Sound In Flutes! is his 3rd solo LP.

From the jangly romanticism of "I Know Everything," to the scathing wit of "Everyone Loves Me But You," (30-second MP3 sample) to the heart-on-sleeve sentiment of "Little Star," (30-second MP3 sample) to the elegant, evocative twang of "The Only Girl (in the World)," the self-penned, self-produced There's No Sound In Flutes (on the artist's own Volare Label) maintains the same bountiful levels of craft, energy and heart that distinguished Priggen's prior solo releases, the all-original The Very Thing That You Treasure and the quirky covers collection Stars After Stars After Stars.

30-second samples: Everyone Loves Me But You, Little Star, Till It All Falls Apart

Buy Everyone Loves Me But You ($1), Buy Little Star ($1), Buy Till It All Falls Apart ($1)


NexTiger said...

This is great music, right up my alley! I can't wait to see where they go from here.

Ashley said...

I really like this guys voice, i especially like the song 'everyone loves me but you'. I hope he does well and cheers for the samples it let me try something i dont normally listen to. I will probably look this guys album up on amazon. I think it might be worth buying if i can afford it.